Low Country Boil

This is a post regarding an event that happened many moons ago, but hey, it’s worth noting for the pictures and the recipe. Back in April, M and I decided to kick the Spring / Summer outdoor season off right with a low country boil. What is a low country boil? Rather than link you to wikipedia, I’ll point you to an email from Adam Montjoy:

What’s a Low Country Boil?

It’s a mixture of sausage, potatoes, corn and shrimp, seasoned with a
prepared spice mix such as Old Bay seasoning, and boiled until
everything is tender and the shrimp have turned pink. Once it’s
done… it’s poured onto a newspaper lined table and dinner is served.

Thank you, Adam. For this to be successful, you need a 30 quart outdoor cooker, a drain basket, a tank of propane, and lots of beer. Here is my recipe. I prepared this for 30 people.

  1. 3-4 small red potatoes per person, leave skin on.
  2. 1 ear of corn for every 2 people, shucked and cut into thirds.
  3. 1 pound of smoked sausage for every 3 people (I used andouille), cut into chunks.
  4. 1 pound of fresh shrimp, shell on, for every 3 people. Use frozen if you aren’t within 40 minutes of a fish market.
  5. A boil spice mix. Here is my recipe for 30: 1 cup of Old Bay seasoning, 5 tablespoons salt, 5 tablespoon black pepper, 5 tablespoon garlic powder, and 5 table spoons cayenne pepper.

You want to start by filling the 30 qt pot with potatoes, and then fill it half way with water. Stir in the spice bag, cover the pot, and put it on the propane burner. When the water starts to boil, remove the lid and allow the potatoes to boil for 10 minutes. After that, add in the corn and the sausage. Stir until it starts boiling again and boil for 3 minutes. Lastly, add the shrimp to the pot and toss around for 2 to 3 minutes. There should be enough heat even though the water won’t be boiling to turn them nice and pink right before your eyes. Drain into a strainer bucket and dump on a newspaper covered table. Serve immediately. Drink beer. Cheap, ice cold beer.

This went over very well with the 30 people in attendance. We went through all of the boil, cornbread, brownies, rice krispie treats, and 125 cans of beer. Certainly, a party to remember. I encourage readers of this blog to throw a boil of their own.

8 responses to “Low Country Boil

  1. Low country boils are a blast! Looks like y’all had a good one.

  2. Adam W. Montjoy

    Hey love,

    My boil went excellent as well, as you already know. Thanks to your suggestions! My exact recipe is on my blog, too:

    http://buckleybroomlegs.blogspot.com/2008/05/low-country-boil.html

  3. We’re big fans of Lowcountry boil. I typically do it when the in-laws are visiting. It almost makes me look forward to their arrival.

    I don’t know (or care, really) if it’s kosher or not, but we also quarter a few onions and toss them in.

    If you are into Lowcountry cuisine give pilau and chicken bog a try. They are both chicken and rice dishes, but have slight variations that allow for all that fun regional bickering. Both are good for feeding a crowd

  4. Thanks, Heather. We tossed an onion or two in ours too, just forgot to note it.

    I’m a SC native myself, so I know a thing or two about low country cooking, but I’ve never heard of pilau or chicken bog. I’ll have to google it and see where it leads me! Thanks for the recommendation.

  5. I would have never had my boil if you hadn’t of given me the idea.

    http://buckleybroomlegs.blogspot.com/2008/05/low-country-boil.html

  6. *warning* Don’t any of you individuals ever take me to CiCi’s pizza! There food looks offensive!|Urban_Elegance|

  7. альфа банк калькулятор кредита наличными – ренессанс банк онлайн заявка на кредит наличными, кредит безработным по паспорту в день обращения.

  8. olanzapine online buy no prescription website order olanzapine http://gravatar.com/olanzapine15mg3k

Leave a Reply

