On the cheap – Sunday dinner.

Usually Sundays are a time to buy some expensive ingredients and whip together a fancy meal with all the free time I have. With the economy being the way it is and food prices ever so increasing, this has not been the case as of late. I now find myself (like many others – home cooks and restaurateurs alike) searching for cheap cuts of meat and produce to stretch the dollar. This Sunday I purchased some top sirloin steaks as my local grocer was having a sale on them. The sirloin steak was the steak of my childhood. Nice, cheap, and if cooked/seasoned properly, can make an excellent budget steak. With the sirloin, you definitely get more meat and less marbelling (not that that’s always best…) than say a ribeye.

Anyway, sirloin steaks in hand, I visited the produce section. Tonight’s side dish was going to be a de-constructed guacamole. An avocado, tomato, and red onion stack (later to be assembled by Margaret). I decided to throw in a sliced pickling cucumber from the market for flare. I went outside and threw the steaks on the weber with a liberal dusting of salt and pepper, and then I grilled them up to a nice medium rare. Everything came out fresh and delicious. It was a great summer meal, and avocados aside, it cost around 10$ and was plenty of food for two. A much needed finish for a hot, hot weekend. There is also a great satisfaction that comes out of making a 2$ cut of meat something to lick your plate over.

3 responses to “On the cheap – Sunday dinner.

  1. Man, that’s a good looking meal.

  2. I like to think of sirloin as being inexpensive not “cheap”.

  3. Pingback: Left over sirloin. « The Hungry Kyle: Adventures in All Things Food

Leave a Reply

