A simple summer pasta #2

Maybe this could become a recipe mini series? Anyway, I was craving some pasta this week, so I threw together this quick and easy little ditty. Ingredients are as follows:

  1. 1 lb whole wheat penne rigatte
  2. 1lb sliced cremini mushrooms
  3. 1 yellow onion, sliced
  4. a handful of chopped italian flat leaf parsley
  5. 4 cloves of garlic, diced
  6. 1/4 cup of red wine
  7. Parmesan cheese for topping

I began by sauteeing the garlic in about 4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. After 2 minutes, I threw in the mushrooms and onions. I let them brown up for about 6 to 7 minutes. Then, I deglazed the pan with the red wine. I poured it in, let it sizzle, and then I scraped up all the good bits off the bottom of the skillet. Once the wine had reduced for 2-3 minutes, I tossed everything in with 1 lb of cooked whole wheat penne. I topped it all with parsley and parmesan cheese to taste. Quite delicious. I served everything with some toasted wheat bread.

Leave a Reply

