Caldo Verde

It’s a Portuguese soup.  It’s also very tasty.  I got the inspiration for this from another blog, and I really wanted to try it due to it’s use of kale.  Kale is one of those things that if cooked right, is a very tasty and healthy green.  Unfortunately, people don’t give it second thought aside from garnishing a plate with it (think Shoney’s circa 1995).

I picked up the kale at the local H St. Fresh Farm market (along with the veg in the previous fish post).  This soup was really easy to make.  Ingredients:

  1. one large bunch of kale, cleaned, stems removed, torn with hands
  2. 2 boxes of chicken stock
  3. 2 onions
  4. 4 cloves of garlic
  5. 1 jalapeno roughly chopped
  6. 1 bunch of new potatoes (also from the farmers market – they were white new – red would be fine)
  7. thyme sprigs (3 to 5)
  8. bay leafs (3)
  9. smoked sausage (1lb) cut into 1/2″ chunks (chorizo or linguisa would of been better, but i did what i could).

This is a one pot meal.  Add olive oil, diced onion, and diced garlic into a hot large soup pot or dutch oven.  Saute for 4 minutes.  Add the jalapeno, the sausage, and the potatoes.  Saute for 4 minutes.  Add the kale, the chicken stock, and the herbs.  Bring everything up to a simmer, season to taste, and let simmer for 30 minutes.  Remove thyme, jalapeno, and bay leaves when you encounter them.  Serve with soft or crusty bread.

Mine was a bit salty, so next time I’ll grab the low sodium chicken broth.  An oversight on my part…

8 responses to “Caldo Verde

  1. I had Caldo Verde when I was in Portugal a few years back (I used to date a Portuguese girl). I can honestly say that this is one of the best soups I’ve tasted.

    I’m jealous, but will certainly give your recipe a shot. Thanks Kyle! 🙂

  2. Hopefully you’ll find it tasty. I doubt it tastes anything like what you had in Portugal.

    I’d definitely recommend using linguisa sausage if you can find it mr. a-dub-tee.

  3. Awesome. I’ll report back to you when finished – I plan on trying it out this weekend.

    I share the same sentiments as you about kale, though. Until trying this soup, I thought kale was only good for feeding rabbits.

  4. Sorry that I never give any good feedback or input on food. I’m going to try your recipe tonight (sans sausage/ +vegetable bouillon). BUT:

    I just love how Adam gave an oh-so-slight drop that he dated a hot Latina.

  5. I’m a midnight cooker.

  6. It was one of the high points of my life, for sure. ow ow owwww!

    KPJ – I’ll bring all my recipe books when I come and visit.

  7. Excellent. Actually, AWT, I just want that cookie recipe. You know, those cookies your mom sent me. Yeah, that was hot.

  8. This soup sounds tasty; I’ll have to make it some time soon.

Leave a Reply

