Potatoes Au Gratin

I’ve never made this before, but I was struck with a gratin craving the other day, so I had to satisfy it.  It’s a rather simple dish.  I just thinly sliced some small organic baking potatoes, diced some onion, and chopped some garlic.  I layered the potatoes in a casserole dish and then sprinkled the onion and garlic on top.

The rest is a simple beschamel sauce.  Heat 2 tablespoons of butter in a pot.  Once melted, add two tablespoons of flour and make a blonde roux (about 4-5 minutes of stirring).  Then, add two cups of whole milk and bring up to a boil while whisking.  Once the milk is bubbling, turn off the heat and add two cups of cheese.  I just used some leftover shredded cheese scraps from the freezer, so it was a mix of cheddar and mozzarella…at this point, I believe, a beschamel is now a mornay sauce.  Top the potatoes with the sauce, and place in a preheated 350 degree oven.  Bake for one hour to 80 minutes or until the potatoes are nice and tender.  Season with salt, pepper, and sprinkle with parsley for fun.

2 responses to “Potatoes Au Gratin

  1. Did you eat this as a side-course or a main dish? I’ve never really known how to treat Potatoes au Gratin…

  2. Main course. I had a few crowns of sauteed broccoli as a side dish. I feel like potatoes au gratin and other beschamel based dishes (mac and cheese, etc.) function well as a main course.

Leave a Reply

