Turkey Burgers

with mashed potatoes.  This was a bit of an involved week night meal, but hell it was good.  Hella good.

For the burgers, mix together:

  1. 1 lb ground turkey
  2. fresh oregano
  3. garlic
  4. green onion
  5. salt and pepper
  6. dash hot sauce

Form into 4 patties, cook on a cast iron skillet or grill for 4 and half minutes per side, and then top with cheese (I used smoked provolone).  The burgers were complimented with a fresh tomato relish.  I made the relish from:

  1. 2-3 cups of cherry or grape tomatoes, chopped up
  2. 2 cloves of chopped garlic
  3. 1 diced red onion

I sauteed everything in a nonstick skillet until softened, added worchestichire sauce (sp?)(a few dashes…), and then a few dashes of hot sauce.  Spoon liberally on top of burgers.

The mashed potatoes were pretty simple.  Diced red potatoes, boiled for 15 minutes, and drained.  Add in some fillings of choice (I used rosemary, garlic, and green onion).  Throw in about 1/2 cup of cream or milk and a generous portion of butter.  Mash away.

I decided to use english muffins in lieu of burger buns.  This was a good choice.  I love a good toasty english muffin.  And by the way, my package of Thomas English Muffins holds the disclaimer, “Now without HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP”.  It’s gross to think that was previously in my muffins.  Le sigh.

*posters note: ground turkey can be very delicious, but due to the lean (3-7%) fat content, it dries out.  You can’t cook turkey to temperature due to salmonella risks, so the best option for a moist burger is to add in a good amount of moistening agents (think grated onion, ketchup, bbq sauce, etc.) into the mix.  I would of added some more if I could take last night back.

One response to “Turkey Burgers

  1. I read the disclaimer wrong on the Thomas’ English Muffins and thought it said, “NOW WITH HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP.” After scratching my head wondering, “Why in the world would anyone advertise this?” I caught my mistake.

    That’s good though. I love me some English Muffins (especially with Peanut Butter – mmm). I gave up sodas 2 years ago partly due to the health woes caused by that terrible sweetener.

    These burgers look really good though!

Leave a Reply

