Barbecue Euphoria.

While back in Orangeburg, SC prepping for a wedding during the second half of M and I’s vacation, I was able to sneak out to the barbecue restaurant that fueled my youth.  Friday August 1st, Thomas and I joined up with the Stribling family for a bang up meal at Earl Duke’s barbecue on Whitman St.  I successfully downed two large plates off of the all-you-can-eat buffet.  The plate pictured contains the following:

  1. pulled pork
  2. mustard based bbq sauce
  3. white bread
  4. pickles
  5. green beans
  6. baked beans
  7. cole slaw
  8. hushpuppies
  9. fried pork skin (cracklin’)
  10. hash
  11. white rice

This is the type of food that keeps me going for the rest of the year.  Nothing beats that old school southern pit barbecue.  There is something deeply comforting about my return home with the trip to Duke’s.  Good food, good people, big family style cafeteria seating, and sweet tea on the tables.  This is also the type of food that makes me glad that I ride the 5 miles to work on my bike each day…

One response to “Barbecue Euphoria.

  1. You haven’t tasted good barbecue until you’ve gone to the Barbecue Shop or Central Barbecue in Memphis. Hot ketchup based sauce >> mustard based.

Leave a Reply

