Chili

It’s been several weeks since I posted, and for that, I am greatly sorry.  I haven’t embarked on any culinary endeavors as of late.  I got my groove back per se, so this post is devoted to the best soup/stew of fall: chili.  To mark the start of autumn, I decided to whip up a huge batch of my trust worthy comfort food.  I use a recipe adapted from the one handed down to me from my mother.  Ingredients:

  1. 2 pounds ground beef (or turkey, or bison, or chicken, etc.)
  2. 2 large cans of tomato sauce
  3. 1 can of tomato paste
  4. 2 jalapenos – diced with seeds included
  5. 1 large onion – diced
  6. 2 cans of dark red kidney beans
  7. 1 small package of frozen corn
  8. chili seasoning (I mix 1 tablespoon chili powder, 1 tablespoon cumin, 1 tablespoon kosher salt, 1 table spoon black pepper, and 1 table spoon garlic powder)

It’s a pretty straightforward dish.  Get out a huge pot (cast iron dutch oven), brown the beef for 5-7 minutes.  Stir in the onion and the jalapenos.  Cook until soft, another 5 to 7 minutes.  At this point I add in half of my seasonings.  I then add the cans of beans and the frozen corn (all rinsed of course under cold water), and I then stir to mix everything together.  Drop in the tomato paste and stir.  Then add 1.5 cans of the tomato sauce and bring the whole mixture up to a boil.  Depending on how liquidy the sauce it, you can let it simmer uncovered for about 30 minutes to reduce.  If it’s already to your thickness liking, just cover with the lid and simmer for 90 minutes to 2 hours.  I serve mine along side Margaret’s corn muffins, and I top it with sour cream, cheddar, and green onion.  This recipe makes about 8 servings.  This is best eaten while watching football or to warm the soul on a blustery fall evening.  Enjoy with beer.

One response to “Chili

  1. Pingback: White Bean Chicken Chili « The Hungry Kyle: Adventures in All Things Food

Leave a Reply

