Spatchcocked Chicken

I finally got around to spatchcocking my first chicken.  Spatchcocking, also known as butterflying, is extremely easy and produces a bird that cooks quickly and evenly by removing the backbone and the keel (breast) bone.  I learned my technique from this here video.  Rather than use poultry shears, I used my very sharp, very honed knife.  Everything worked out.  Below is a picture of the raw bird, post spatchcock.  I totally blanked and forgot to take a picture of the finished product, but I assure you, it was some of the most deliciously moist chicken I’ve ever had.  I dusted the chicken in a heavy blend of Greek-ish spices (oregano, thyme, salt, lemon pepper, garlic) and olive oil.  I fired up the gas grill until the temp reached 450 degrees.  I then turned the middle burner (out of 3) off and placed the chicken skin side up over the now turned off burner.  Close the lid and walk away for 45-50 minutes, and you have a perfectly cooked chicken.  This was paired oh so wonderfully with a greek salad.

cimg0465

2 responses to “Spatchcocked Chicken

  1. I do this all the time and it never fails. Even if you forget to take the chicken off right at done temp, it stilll comes out tender and juicy; and with the olive oil, a great crispy skin.

    A GAS GRILL?!?!?!?!?!

  2. Haha. A friend gave me a gas grill because his building wouldn’t let him have it anymore. I just wanted it for the propane tank. I use it off and on for random grilling nights. You better believe the Weber will be fired up all summer though.

Leave a Reply

