Bagel Time

I used to not be much into making food that requires yeast, rising, dough, etc., but as of late, I’ve been bitten hard by the baker’s bug.  There is a distinct sense of satisfaction that I get producing a good loaf of bread or pizza dough.  You save money like woah and it almost always tastes better than the store bought alternative.  Over the past six months or so, I’ve been eating bagels every morning for breakfast, so I decided to give bagels at home a try.  All in all, it was pretty easy.  I chose this recipe as my first foray into making bagels.  It doesn’t require much flour, nor does it require an over night fermantation.  The bagels turned out really good, but they weren’t perfect.  I think next time, I’m going to experiment with a different recipe that requires double the volume of flour and an overnight proof.  These bagels came out a bit small, but damn, are they flavorful.  And for about $2 worth of ingredients, I have bagels for the next two weeks.

cimg05611

3 responses to “Bagel Time

  1. Nice. My bro made doughnuts once and they looked awesome! it is almost ice cream season…

  2. can you make some lemon squares? i tried to make some today and they turned out mushy…not that i didn’t eat them, just shared the majority of them with the puppies 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bagels again « The Hungry Kyle: Adventures in All Things Food

Leave a Reply

