Bagels again

I ate all the bagels that I made the first time around, so I needed to whip up some more.  This time, I used the highly acclaimed Peter Reinhart recipe as described here.  Making these bagels is a two day epic process, but damn.  Damn.  DAMN.  The results are worth it.  I made cinnamon raisin bagels.  While it takes about 3lbs of bread flour for a batch, you get 16 amazingly delicious bagels.  Crusty on the outside, chewy on the inside.  And of course, still drastically cheaper than store bought varieties.  If there is one thing that I’ve learned through all of this recent baking, it’s that I could really use a kitchen aid stand mixer.  Kneading bread dough by hand is fun and all for like 2 minutes, but then it gets really old and tedious.  Maybe one day…

I think I’m definitely going to stick with this recipe as my standard bagel prep.  Next time, I’ll focus more on shaping the bagels so they aren’t so ugly.

CIMG0574

2 responses to “Bagels again

  1. Ahh, that was the recipe I was looking at. Will there be any left for me?

Leave a Reply

